Patrones 297 (October 2010)

I finally received my October Patrones today and it looked like the post man may have had it inside his bag for a while…thank goodness the magazine was in better condition than the outside of the envelope! Anyway you’re probably a bit sick of me lamenting the lack of magazine love this month but my sulking was for a very good reason: this is an amazing issue! I knew it was coming since my fellow Perth blogger Jacquie received her issue much earlier in the month and put up her favourites in a review which you can read here. I loved everything and stared at those tiny little index images until my overused sewing eyes hurt and now I can add to her selection with my own favourites:

First up a really cute and romantic blouse and pants set (oh and look at her shoes, there are plenty of amazing shoes in this issue too!) I’m not normally a fan of the narrow leg pant but I love the paneling and as I learn to love my body more through sewing I’m feeling brave enough to try these as they are.

.

.

.

This jacket and pants suit combo is very nice and even better is the luscious blue blouse and rouched skirt (more great shoes too) an easy work-to-after-work transitional outfit.

.

.

.

.

There are a whole lot of amazing dresses in this issue and I could had posted almost all of them but this is one of my favourites. It looks great in nude but I can see it in a deep rich purple.

.

.

.

.

Another great work suit look, the cap sleeves on this vest are really cute and I love the length, I would definitely wear this, a beautiful silhouette…next to it is sequin shift dress with border hem and I can see my bravely purchased sequins is still peaking out at me from my stash…now I am thinking it might become a dress.

.

.

This issue is also chock full of amazing plus sized fashion

I really like this dress that looks like separates, it reminds me of the BurdaStyle Kiki dress which is high on my list and this vest/dress combo is cute and flattering and a really un-80s use of decorative metallic rivets, nice.

.

.

.

Loving the detail on this dresses bodice, rouched and then woven, it comes down at the sides to a very flattering length and is overall just lovely.

.

.

.

.

Next month is another Joven issue (youth) and the last one was amazing so I am super excited but if the postman hides it again then I will have to wait until I return from my honeymoon to read it.

Now I am crossing my fingers that my first Mannequin magazine shows this month..

In other sewing news my wedding dress is progressing well, I’ve been taking my time a little, it’s not much fun sewing and fitting in 42 degrees and the last thing I want is a sweat stained dress. After this weekend I’ll post a few sneaky photos to tease you but I’m afraid that’s all you’ll be getting until after the big day ;)

I’m really not sure how much blogging I’ll get done during the next two months. There won’t be any sewing while I am in NZ except perhaps for last minute changes to my dress on my Mum’s trusty Globe sewing machine which I’d love to share some photos of with you. As per usual I’ll  be on the hunt for fabric souviners and some amazing fabric shops to share with any NZ readers or future NZ holidayers, maybe I’ll even slip in a bonus honeymoon photo or two to convince some of you to visit the amazing country I (still) call home.

So please stick around because next year I’ll be catching up on all the wonderful Patrones patterns that I am dying to make (so keep your eyes open for more foreign sewing lessons) and I’m discovering that I really enjoy writing about my sewing experiences so I think another of my 2011 New Years Resolutions will be to post more often about my continued adventures in sewing.

10 thoughts on “Patrones 297 (October 2010)

  1. I love those fabrics that you just bought so I’ll be curious about your New Zealand shopping, too. DH and I are taking a trip there this coming Feb./March. I don’t plan on doing any fabric shopping….but I could be convinced to change my mind:-)

    • I will do my best to convince you so do a little souveniring ;) xx I hope you have a great time I am bias but of course I think NZ will be an amazing holiday or you, enjoy! You have made some lovley creations and I really enjoyed your “What will happen to your sewing stash?” entry.

  2. I’m getting a bit worried about our Manequims – I’ve sent them an email but so far nothing… they have December on their website and so we are missing October AND November.

    • Me too! I think we just have to keep our fingers crossed, I don’t want to miss out :( I think I should have received October but definitely November, I only subscribed 1 month or so after you, ohh I hope they hurry up!

  3. Its cold here an full of snow, but good luck with the wedding dress.
    The pants are from Burbury Sport and in jersey yes verry skinny leg, but its a bizar patteren and I”am looking for other fabric to use. Made the blouse from the cover, jacket 17, and skirt 19 .
    I already have the joven issue and its more menswear inspired. Loveley blousetunics , waistcoats, and again pants( but more wider)

    • I thought it was something to do with mens wear inspired, sounds like I will like it, I prefer the wide leg pants :) You are quick making up some items already, can’t wait until next year when I can sew otehr than my wedding dress ;) Thank you for the best wishes xx

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

