Sewing as Art – Architectural Fabric Art Installation

Today I am home, on the couch, with a big warm blanket, a hot water bottle on my chest and trying not to cough myself inside out. It is day four of my annoying cold and the weather outside is reflective of how I feel: 100% awful.

The highlight of my morning was finding crumpets in the freezer and to cheer myself up I ate them with some of my carefully rationed Marmite.

I am not a complete Marmite addict, I only eat it occasionally but still, I wish I’d bought a bigger jar.

Yeast Spreads are funny things. You either love them or the complete opposite.  I took some jars on a trip to Japan and my host family wouldn’t touch the stuff, they couldn’t understand why we wanted to eat it.

In our house the love is divided. Husband was bought up with Vegemite in the fridge and your loyalty, it seems, is firmly imprinted during early childhood. Mmmm cheese and Marmite/Vegemite sandwiches!

Well that just means I don’t have to share my small and fast dwindling jar of black gold.

One each, no sharing

Here is a poll just for fun:

I am terrible at being sick. I know I should rest and I have no intention of leaving my cosy spot on the couch but I get so bored. Thank goodness for laptops and remote controls :)

Anyway, I thought I would share some sewing/design coolness that I saw a little while ago online:

This image is from Home Within Home, an architectural fabric installation by Korean artist Do Ho Suh at the Leeum Samsung Museum of Art in Seoul, South Korea.

I think it’s pretty awesome and you can see more images here, enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Sewing as Art – Architectural Fabric Art Installation

  1. We were a Vegemite household growing up, but frankly the only way I will eat it, is a smear in my cheese rolls.
    Hope you are feeling better soon, though with this weather you might have the best spot anyway!

  2. Oh the dreaded lurg – hope you feel better soon. If its any consolation you’re a lot warmer in your snuggly couch & blanket location than, well, anywhere else in Welly presently. So stay put till you have to move.

    Not sure about the whole marmite/vegemite thing. I have vegemite in the cupboard but my kids haven’t eaten it for years, I think its strange stuff and JJ says he likes it but never eats it. Hmmmm. Apparently you can put it in casseroles? Haven’t tried that either. :o))

    • My mum sticks it in soup! And I am sure my Dad used to stick in the pan gravy if he made it after the roast – I wonder if it is also a thickener? Hmm, interesting. I also go on and off the stuff, in fact I think up until my crumpets I hadn’t eaten it since Marmageddon began.

  3. My colleague is from NZ and she talks about Marmite as well! Maybe next time she goes to NZ she’ll bring some, I’m really curious :)

      • I’ve tried a few of them – my mum bought a few different variations when we first moved here and I definitely only like actual English marmite, which you can tell it is even when it has a different name here because of the shape of the jar.

        I tried giving vegemite a go as it’s obviously easier and cheaper to get here in Melbourne and it’s just not the same. It’s tolerable but didn’t give me that boost in the morning like my marmite does, so it’s back to expensive difficult to find marmite for me. At least i’m going back to england in a few months and am planning on bringing back a few large jars of marmite with me.

        • Actaulyl I have seent hat jar here in my supermarket. When I was living in Perth I had to drive all the way to Joondalup to The Kiwi Shop to buy my favourite kiwi treats: L&P, Krispie bikkies and Griffin’s Gingernuts because the Australian Arnott’s ones just didn’t taste right to me ;)

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

