Manequim 639 (August 2012)


Manequim 639, let’s go! :) First up, we can all copy Kate and crochet this pretty cardigan.

This weeks plus sized dress is gorgeous, princess seamed bodice with a nice pleaty detailed collar and sleeves.

I really like the white dress in “Powerful Costume” (what?!) and the pleating detail on the shirt is interesting.

This month’s celebrity section is based on the fashions of Brazilian actress Débora Nascimento. I like the sequined top and the one shouldered dress is quite nice too.

All the Carven items in the designer section are really nice, especially the pleated dress but I’m not so sure about the blouse, the weird pleat detail at the arm looks a bit weird and bulky to me, I think it could end up looking more like a mistake.

I was super excited when I saw the preview of the “New Luxury” section last month.

I think the tops 350 & 351 are both beautiful and the teal dress (347) is simple and gorgeous, I could definitely see myself making that for a special occasion. I’ve included the full length front shot for you to see it better.

I’m not so sure about the overalls in “Sport Chic”, it makes the model look a bit too boxy, I think you could add more shape by modifying the seams of the black section. The flared pants look good and I wish they had included the skirt at bottom right but it’s good inspiration anyway.

There’s a section at the end that seems to be about office fashion by Gloria Kalil.  I’ve scanned the themes “liberal” (which Google Translate translates as “liberal”) on the left and “creative” on the right. Another blouse with weird arm join pleat thing but I like the orange blouse, it’s very pepluminosity ;) (sorry, inside joke)

So next month in looking very summery which is great since it is officially spring here. My garden is definitely in spring mode, my Kōwhai tree is in full bloom, much to the delight of many enthusiastic Tui. I even saw a Kererū sitting at the top of it the other day. I was so fascinated and excited I just stared and stared at him and it wasn’t until he flew away that I thought about grabbing my camera, duh!

Did you like this post? You may enjoy one of these:

Manequim 638 (July 2012)

Manequim 637 (June 2012)

Manequim 636 (May 2012)

3 thoughts on “Manequim 639 (August 2012)

  1. I love the Carven stuff. When I went to their haute couture show in Paris in 1987, it was seriously frumpy. (I’ve waited 25 years to casually drop that into a conversation!). Seriously, this looks so much nicer than the recent Patrones issues, I might chase up Mannequim for myself.

    • I have pretty much decided to drop my Patrones subscription when the renewal comes up. It’s just not doing it for me and I love Manequim much more. I have way too many patterns besides! I’d rather get the best stuff from Manequim and concentrate on re-sizing the items I like the most and actually sewing them :)

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

