The Official Sewing Studio Tour!

Right, it must be time for a tour, yes? Hold on tight then, here we go!

First up, a couple of panoramas to give you an idea of the space overall.

I mentioned previously (without trying to sound spoilt) that this is the biggest space I have had for sewing. It is also the fourth iteration of my room, so I am now quite settled in my working methods and know how I like things set up. Here is the plan I drew previously if you missed it.

If you are interested in my previous sewing rooms I have photos here of my second room in Perth. I consider this my first “proper” sewing room and I sewed in here for almost 2 years. The third version of my room was in our rental back here in NZ. It was a tiny room with no space for my layout board. We were there for just under a year and the last 3 months resulted in pretty much no sewing due to it being on the market and the numerous open homes. Thank goodness that is all behind us!

Now please step inside and follow me as we cruise around in a generally clockwise direction.

Let me show you my toys:

My machines: I sew on an Elna 2130 and I love it. I bought this machine after I graduated University as a congratulations gift to myself. I remember doing a lot of careful research before settling on this one and I “lay-buyed” it (gosh, does anyone actually do that anymore?!). It cost me NZD$495 back in late 2003 but I moved to Australia in January 2005 and it went into storage until my Mum brought it over (in her suitcase!!) in 2008. Needless to say it survived the trip intact and it still stitches perfectly.

In 2009 I decided to buy an overlocker and after more careful investigation I chose a Bernina 1150MDA which cost me AUD$995 – I’ll admit I was pretty lucky, the Australian government introduced their economic stimulus package earlier that year, which included giving all eligible Australian citizens (or in our case – registered tax paying residents) a one-off bonus payment of AUD$900 and they encouraged us to spend it, so, adding $95 to it, I did just that ;) I’ve never looked back – Best. Purchase. Ever!

You can see my computer in this photo too and a couple of drawer sets holding various sewing and crafty items and on top is my Silkstone barbie who has yet to get some new clothes.

Some of you may have noticed the absence of my “fancy red chair” which I am currently sitting on at work, it’s really comfy! I considered keeping it at work but my Ikea chair really is stuffed. I’m actually just waiting to get a chair mat to protect the new carpet.

I also have a new long mirror, very important for fittings…and no, you cannot see inside the wardrobe ;)

My new bookshelf that you saw me building the other day is a bit messy right now, I kind of just shoved everything in there ;) You can see all the jars that I keep all my little bits and bobs in, my sewing books, a crazy cat soft toy that just cracks me up (surprised kitty is very surprised), sewing magazines and then some junk I have to sort through at the bottom.

On the left of my shelves I keep rolled up paper that includes copied patterns and spare butter paper. I found huge stash of it from my University days, back when I could buy it for like 2 cents an A1 sheet, and it is perfect for tracing patterns and drafting.

This is my garment hanger. It is meant to be taller but I bought a cheap one and the plastic locking thingees on the telescopic bits (so technical!) don’t really work if you hang more than one garment on it, it just slides down to the stops.

Nerdy husband will be instructed to drill holes in it this weekend. I will fix it, I will fix it good!

This is meant for holding items in progress but right now it’s mostly things needing repairs and alterations. The skirt at the front you would not have seen before and it is waiting for a zipper repair.

Why are these things not in the wardrobe? Hah, you almost got me there, but I’m still not showing you inside. A girl’s got to have some secrets ;) No, actually I just like having them out on display, so I don’t forget about them.

My layout board: This is a piece of pre-finished MDF board from Bunnings. I originally shared my first sewing room with the Guest Room and a queen sized bed. So that I could layout my patterns we bought this board and I used it on top of the bed. However this was way too low and really bad for my back so when we moved we sold the bed and I attached the board to the top of a drafting table frame.

It’s great because I still have room under for storage but it is still a tad too high. I have drawn up a replacement frame and one day I will convince Nerdy Husband and Mechanical Brother-in-Law (who owns a welding device) to make it up for me :)

For now I am very happy because this is the first time I can walk around three sides of my layout. I have found I can really only cut curves well in one direction, then to get the other way I need to contort my arm or rotate the fabric, which just messes everything up. I’m not the only one right?

I use a set of Ikea Gorm baskets to keep my scissors, pens and pattern weights etc close at hand. They can’t slide all the way on at the moment but they will with the new frame.

I can also slide my ironing board underneath when it’s not in use which is a big space saver and saves me from having to constantly fold it up. You can just spot my sleeve board underneath the table and in the photo below, hiding on the filing cabinet is my pressing board, if you are interested check out my post on how I made them. For the brave (and power tool happy) among you there is a bonus photo tutorial and patterns included ;)

I bought my filing cabinet from a recycling centre a couple of years ago. It cost me AUD$40 and it was a sad grey colour but I fixed that with a bit of paint. It’s perfect for holding my envelope patterns and magazine pattern inserts and takes up very little space.

My fabric stash is a bit messy right now, as I stacked it away I spread it out and kind of organised it by type. In the basket are fat quarters, I don’t know why I can’t stop buying those things, they are too darn cute.

I like having my fabric out where I can see it, it keeps the stash in check and allows me to be constantly inspired. Also, don’t worry, the filing cabinet shields it from the sun.

I have also realised that the reason I love having so much fabric (and I am aware that this is not a lot of fabric by some people’s standards) is because it is like having a personal fabric shop in my home. I love looking through fabric shops just like I love looking through my stash and re-discovering pieces I fell in love with at the shop and brought home, it’s great, don’t you agree? :D

Birthday Dress pattern contenders hang in the background too, more on that in a later post.

Pride of place on top goes to my Singer 201K-3, gifted to me by The Amazing J, awaiting repairs, you can read her story here. My collection of miniature sewing machines will join her soon, I just need to find them all!

My thread holder is attached to the bottom of my pin board, you can see how I made it here. I have since added another row and I’ll be doing the same to pin board number two!

Also on top is a fairly major project I cut out last Winter, I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on the blog yet. Can you have a guess what it is? I think the fabric selection will at least give away the type of garment. Also I went to the library last week, I LOVE the library!

Scarlett guards the doorway (you never know when someone might sneak in looking for some scissors!) and models the current WIP which was interrupted by the packing, Simplicity 2364.

Behind her are my pin boards, I hung them myself, thank you very much, and I am pretty sure they are level. A bit sparse of inspiration right now but I’ll fit that soon. Do you like my very special bunting?

And that’s it, we are back at the door, now, shoo, off you go, do some sewing or something! ;)

Phew! Sorry, that was a really long post. So as you can see I am 100% ready to go but I have to be honest, I am almost frozen by the overwhelming list of things I want and need to sew! Sigh! My plan for the minute is to just START SEWING! Hence the machines are threaded pink so first up, the WIP must be finished.

Did you like this post? You may enjoy one of these:

Déjà vu

Happy 1st Birthday BSC Perth!

Oh the heat…and the nerdyness

28 thoughts on “The Official Sewing Studio Tour!

  1. Oh!! You have pretty nice and big room!! I dream about such big table for cutting(but I am afraid that it will be always in some stuff!!) Your fabric stash is pretty big(for me!) Mine is just like one box %)) But this is just beginning!%))

  2. Cool. Thanks for sharing. We are moving soon and my head is buzzing with ideas for my sewing room. It will be great just to have a dedicated space, let alone a high work table for cutting, and the ironing board out all the time, and good lighting…

    Your peg board thread holder is very similar to one my husband made me. However I’ve already requested a replacement with thinner dowels so I can store the matching bobbins underneath the thread. I have a vintage pfaff so the center hole in the bobbin is smaller than some other bobbins. I just thought I would share that idea in case it might come in handy for you.

    Thanks again.

    • It’s amazing how much more productive you can be with a dedicated space, lucky you too! I saw a definite drop in mojo after I lost my cutting table so I am looking forward to just getting back into it.

      I did think about bobbin spaces when I made the first spool holder but I do quite like them closer at hand in a little bobbin box. With more space I might try something when we make a spool holder for the second pin board, thanks :)

  3. Oh wow! What an absolutely delightful space. I sew on the kitchen table and cut out on the floor (and I agree, wow, not great for the old back) so I am gagging with outrageous jealousy right now. PS – is that couture sewing techniques book any good?

  4. This is my idea of sewing room perfection. And I’m crazy jealous because I’m still sewing at the dining table, cutting out on the kitchen floor and stashing fabric under the bed (I live in a teeny tiny apartment). But one day, that will change, and I’ll be using this as the blue print for my own little slice of heaven… I hope you enjoy it!! :)

    • One day you’ll have your dream room too xx I’m glad I can inspire you – I saw some pretty cool fold down tables when I was first looking into layout/cutting space, maybe something like that will get you by for now, I remember how much it hurts the back (and knees) to be scrambling around on the floor!

  5. oh…drool…i’d kill for a good cutting surface and space and full length mirror in the same room….for now, the kitchen counter is my best cutting table option…(as long as I give it a good wipe up before cutting…ewwwh)

    • Oh I’ve been there, scrubbing the counter before spreading out my latest fabric purchase to cut…but I take too long on each project now and have several on the go at once so we’d never have any room for making food ;) hehe

  6. Your sewing room looks amazing! I hope to have as large and organized a space for my sewing someday. It must be so inspirational to be able to see everything and access whatever you need. Also, I am super jealous of your lovely cutting table! My back has been screaming for something like that for about a year now. Maybe someday…

    Enjoy your new space!

    • Thanks :) I saw some pretty cool fold down tables when I was first looking into layout/cutting space, maybe something like that will get you by for now, I know how much it hurts the back (and knees) to be scrambling around on the floor! I hope I can be back to my usual productive self and actually share some sewing on my “sewing” blog! Hehe

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

