I’m still here…somewhere + #FMSphotoaday

As per the title of this post…just busy dealing with life, as you do – but I am sewing, something I can’t share quite yet…the RNHS rugby jersey is awaiting my locating some white drill for the collar (and also working out how to sew the button placket), also I have fabric for one of the two birthday dress patterns on the short list…I even pre-washed it…and I may have seen fabric for the other one…

… because who am I kidding? I’m going to sew them both up anyway!

Yesterday was the most beautiful day here in Wellington (today too it turns out!) and I just wanted to go to the beach…and then go home and sew dress after dress after dress for summer, haha!

Anyway, back to the fabric: The dress I really want to sew requires more fabric that I usually buy for stashing – around 3.5 meters. So I’ve been wandering the fabric stores for a while, waiting for something to grab me – yesterday I saw this gorgeous sateen cotton in white with a blue zigzag running across the width – just trying to get my head around how it will piece up and gauging how much of a headache lining up zigzags will give me! I forgot to look at the cutting layout last night so if I remember tonight and I can see it working I’ll go buy the pretty fabric tomorrow – the shop is just down the road, my office is dangerously central in Wellington, dangerously fun ;)

In other news I decided to give myself a creative kick and do one of those photo-a-day challenges. I saw it on another Wellington blogger’s site, Modern Vintage Cupcakes. Kat has been playing since mid September and now I am going to play too :)

If you think you want to join in too then click the image above to visit Fat Mum Slim and learn a bit more about it.

Here is this month’s list:

November Photo A Day Challenge

I am not going to post my photos everyday to this blog, I will do a weekly round-up instead but if you want to see my photos before then I am posting to my Pinterest account here

EDIT 14.01.2013 – Because Pinterest is being a little b*tch I am posting via Photobucket instead – please use the links to each months album under the photoadaypage at the top of my blog :)

(because  I can’t work out that whole instagram thingee and I don’t “tweet” either) so feel free to follow that board, or all my boards, or just some of them…

However, since this is day one, here is day one’s photo:

November 1. Something beginning with ‘c’: Mmmm COFFEE on my way to work from the gym #FMSphotoaday

It was a pretty easy one for me! :D

8 thoughts on “I’m still here…somewhere + #FMSphotoaday

  1. Yay for you joining the photo challenge – I’m looking forward to seeing your pictures! :-)

    I was glad when we moved offices at work. I used to have to go past Arthur Toye both to and from work each day. Very, very dangerous…… Heck knows how much money I’m saving simply by not walking past that one store every day, haha!

    • I’m really excited to be dong it too. I knew people did this kind of thing but I never looked into it properly until I saw your photos. It looked pretty overwhelming at first but taking it a day at a time is actually really fun! :) Now I get up each morning and check what photo opportunity I should be thinking about that day.

      Ohh walking past Arthur Toye each day is much more dangerous!

  2. That photo challenge sounds so fun – I’ll be very interested to see your daily photos in Pinterest.

    I used to have the city (Sydney) Tessuti fabrics right near my office. It was kind of fantastic but also an expensive lunchtime hobby! I was very sorry when they closed the city shop, although it was definitely good for my credit card :-(. Sounds like you have much more willpower than me though if you are able to walk away and come back to fabric the next day; very sensible!

    • Haha, willpower, is that what it’s called? ;) Sometimes it fails me. I think I was stronger this time because I am actually looking at fabric for a specific pattern for a change, rather than just “stashing”

  3. Oh yes, Spring/Summer in NZ can be so particularly beautiful with that intense bright light that, I was told, is not to be found in so many parts of the world. Hey, next time, if you can, would you post a picture of one of those gorgeous NZ beaches? I am already feeling nostalgic… Cheers!

    • I am pretty sure I can get a beach photo for you ;) I do have a swimsuit I need to photograph sometime, been putting it off but the weather is encouraging (well, not today) but apparently Summer is going to be nice and warm this year.

  4. Mm, I seem to have been a reader rather than commenter or blogger lately! Life happens like that! I thought about the photo a day. Might give it a go. All I can say is I’m glad I work far enough from fabric shops for them to be an issue! It takes me 15-20 minutes to get to Arthur Toye (and he’s the closest!) Can’t wait to see what you have your eyes on though!

    • Arthur Toye is the closest to me, maybe 5-10 mins if I am in flat shoes – it is handy in that I often walk past on the way to meetings and I can see if a sale is on (since they don’t have a mailing list) but I’m really glad that I’m too far away from Global to make it there and back during my lunch break! :)

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

