RNHS: Rugby Jersey Finished

Normal service resuming in 3…2…1…

The Requested Nerdy Husband Sewing: Rugby Jersey is done! :)

And I am happy to announce that NH is most pleased with it.

Inside out detail:

You’ll have to believe me when I say it looks 100 times better on my actual husband, rather than Scarlett!

Stripe matching? Check!

I reinforced the shoulder seams with twill tape to prevent any stretching.

And here is the magnificent button placket…which wasn’t actually that difficult in the end. I just needed instructions! ;)

You may notice the lack of rubber buttons because I haven’t sourced them yet, although I think I know a store that may have something but it was closed when I last drove past it…NH is happy with standard plastic buttons for now. The jersey will have it’s first official outing for New Year’s Lunch…which will actually be the 6th, a minor detail.

The deets:

Pattern: Burda Magazine 04/2007 #130 “Men’s t-shirt” heavily altered to match existing All Blacks polo shirt

Fabric: “Rugby Jersey” Knit selected by Nerdy Husband from Moorelands in Palmerston North and white drill from the stash

footer_kiwi with needle1

18 thoughts on “RNHS: Rugby Jersey Finished

  1. Wow, impressive! Congratulations, it looks really professional – you should maybe think about designing for the All Blacks!

    Happy 2013 and looking forward to following your sewing adventures next year.

    • Hehe, that would be funny. NH doesn’t really approve of this tight-shirted nonsense currently sweeping rugby uniforms, he likes the old school jerseys so maybe he would like me designing for the mighty ABs ;)

  2. Yep it looks fantastic – I hope we get to see the shirt on NH at some point? With or without rubber buttons it looks ace. Nice one.

    I hope you don’t have to wait until the 6th to celebrate the new year too BTW. Or maybe you’ll be celebrating from the 1st to the 6th?!!

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

