FO: Hellloooo Cindy!

Are you ready? Because here is my oldest Un-photographed Finished Object, photographed, finally!:

My “ode to the 1950s” swimsuit model pose…I need to get myself a sailor hat!

It is the Cindy swimsuit from BurdaStyle, a two piece bather with ruched sweet-heart halter neck top and separate bikini bottoms with ruffle. The ruching is very flattering across the tum tum and the ruffle attached to the bikini bottoms gives that little bit of extra coverage for your confidence.

I downloaded this pattern for free back in the good old days when new patterns were released each Monday and we weren’t bombarded with spam and advertisements…ahh, those were the days…now it’s a $3.50 download which I guess isn’t a bad price for a cute bathing suit.

Looking, looking..that’s Kapiti Island, a nature reserve, on the right.

This was my first ever attempt at making a swimsuit. I was living in Perth at the time (I am guessing I made this in early 2009) and because I was quite proud of my efforts I intended to photograph it at the beach immediately…but it just never happened.

When In-the-mood-for-a-swim Hubby suggested a day trip to the beach at QEII Park on Wellington Anniversary I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to share it with you all while knocking one of my Re-Sew-lutions on the head at the same time!

Please be appreciative of my bravery, this is the least amount of clothing I have ever been photographed in!

It is not really a swimming swimsuit, more of a lie-under-the-beach-umbrella-looking-pretty kind of swimsuit.

I am still very proud of this make but I admit it is not 100% perfect.

Out of about 15 “splashing” photos, this is the best one.
I need more practise but it was a lot of fun!

Things I would do differently if I made this swimsuit again:

More length to the bodice, maybe as much a 5cm! It rides up, probably a cause of the cute and flattering ruching, but I have a long torso and generally prefer a bit more length in my tops so I normally add that into the bodice of most Burda/BurdaStyle patterns.

Add in some bust support. This pattern isn’t great for a C/ D-on-a-good-day bust. I think the low back doesn’t help so perhaps a strap across the upper back like the Alison pattern and building in some bra cups would help it a lot.

Reduce the width of the crotch in the bikini bottoms. It is wiiiiiiiiide and bunches/folds uncomfortably at each side.

Add a bit more width at the back of the bikini bottoms for better bum coverage. It is a tad skimpy and I was constantly plucking them out of you-know-where…

Use my elasticator foot on my overlocker for a more rtw looking finish. The zig-zag is ok, it looks fine in fact, it’s strong, stretchy and tidy. When I decided to make this swimsuit I had already bought my overlocker but not very long before hand. It came with extra feet including an elasticator foot that feeds the elastic at a constant controlled stretch while overlocking it in place. It’s very cool and I have played with it quite a bit since but at the time it was just a bit too much to take in all at once: First swimsuit, new overlocker, tensions!, elasticator foot, etc…

Remember not to use a straight stitch! I stitched the long seam on the halter strap with a straight stitch, I have no idea why I did that, I knew better back then too. So it does’t really stretch on that edge and digs into my neck rather than stretching, it’s a bit uncomfortable but not a big deal.

Red toes!

Ok, I think you’ll agree that’s enough of my legs for one day! ;)

footer_love

29 thoughts on “FO: Hellloooo Cindy!

  1. Well I was sitting in the hot pools at Hanmer Springs yesterday and your image of you in this fabulous swimsuit came to mind. I think it would be terrific for any lady sitting around looking gorgeous in hot pools – it’s exactly what is needed by many ladies! And the colour is adorable! Nice one.

  2. If I saw you in these on the beach I would be intensely curious as to where you got such awesome swimmers. You look terrific, and perfectly attired for the gorgeous location. Thanks for your construction details. I think I downloaded this pattern rather a while ago……

  3. Super cute! I really like this style on you. Sometimes I go shopping for swimsuits (not often, since I don’t really swim) and think “why aren’t there more cute one piece suits?” Love it!

  4. WOW! Good on you for making a swimmers!! It looks fabulous on you and I really love the colour. I think it’s great that you have a ‘things I would do differently’ section…cause learning is half the fun :) Very well done.

    • Thanks :) The pattern really is quite good, I think now that I have a bit more experience I can look back at the changes I could make (or watch out for on the next one) and I am sure it will help someone else too.

  5. So cute!!! (And I’m in awe of your bravery at appearing in your swimsuit – you go, girl!) You’re totally rocking that style, and that colour – love it. :-)

    Also, elasticator foot??? Now that sounds like a super useful foot to have! Must look into that….

    • Ahh it almost didn’t happen but when I got home I realised the photos weren’t so bad! :) Haha

      Oh allow me to introduce you to the world of overlocker feet! They are AMAZING, I have a binding foot too and something else that I haven’t had time to play with…I can bring them along next meet for you to see.

  6. Aww this is awesome!!! And you look totes amazing in your swimsuit photo shoot to boot. Swimwear is something I’d LOVE to sew one day… so I love seeing what others are sewing up! Great backdrop to it too – NZ really is just SOooooo beautiful. You look great!

    • Thank you so much xx I am so glad everyone likes it, I was really nervous to put this post up!

      You should definitely give a swimsuit a go, I’m glad I can inspire you to try, it was so much easier than I thought it would be and worth the effort :)

  7. THIS IS ADORABLE! I love it. It would also be flattering on me I think, I might look into it if it wasn’t too challenging. Also, love the colour.. all my bathing suits and bikinis are that colour!

  8. Oh my I love that colour. And I’m so impressed you made togs! Wow. They look great too, even with the issues you described. And much whooping and hollering for your photographic courage, but fear not, you look great!

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

