Gosh, that takes me back… or forward. That’s the trouble with time travel, you can never remember*

It’s time to get back into the Elna TARDIS and come back in time with me, not too far, not as far as the last time I showed you my Oldest Un-photographed Finished Object!

Hold on tight, we’ve got two quick stops to make, November 2011 and February 2012, the last two times these items made an appearance on this blog.

Woah, look what we’ve found! It’s my Simplicity 2556 Vest and a 3rd BurdaStyle JJ blouse!

They’ve been finished for quite a while, worn A LOT, but never photographed, oops! 😉

The vest is an amazing OOP pattern from the Simplicity Project Runway range – I am really confused as to why it’s OOP so soon, it feels like I bought it so recently.

Well anyway, I own about 4 Simplicity PR patterns, this being the only one I’ve actually made up, but I love the concept of them.

Basically the options are broken down into individual elements that you can mix and match to create a more unique item, it feels much more value-for-money, plus you can make it over and over again with different results each time.

They also include a (ridiculously leggy) croquis and each element for you to trace so you can draw up the entire outfit before you start, sort of like making your own paper doll, super fun!

Click through for a video tutorial on how to use the croquis kit

With this vest I went with view C and chose not to add the collar or (I think they are fake) pockets. I also love view B, with the bow, cute!

The vest isn’t the best example since there are only 2 or so options for each view, a better example is this dress (which is apparently also OOP – what the?) It has 2 bodice options, 2 skirt options, 2 collar options, 3 sleeve options plus a sash and Simplicity show you only 8 or the many variations you can create!

The other great thing is that each bodice comes in A through D cup sizes.

So I made a bit of a boo boo when I bought my vest pattern, I bought the size bracket that only went up to a 12 but according to Simplicity (and the finished measurements) I am a 16 so I resized my pattern using this method from an old Burda magazine. The notes says that you should not alter the pattern by more that 2 sizes otherwise the fit will be compromised. I wasn’t sure if they meant 2 sizes as in 1 up/1 down, or 2 sizes in each direction but I just went ahead and graded my 12C bodice up to a 16 anyway 😉

Pfftt! Size 16, whateves Simplicity!

It worked, that’s all that matters! 😀

I can’t even remember where I got this fabric from, probably Fabulous Fabrics in Balcatta (Perth) – I think I may have bought it originally for pants. The lining is left overs from my Hikaru coat  – which I have lost somewhere, how sad is that?! I am devastated, lucky I have my new Lady Grey to keep me warm next winter!

Wait, who am I kidding?! I have 5 more coats planned in my head, you can never have enough coats if you live in Wellington!

Anyway, this is one of those items that I made not being sure if I would like it or not, I often choose to sew new-to-me-style as an experiment. Yeah, that’s me, can’t even be bothered to go into a shop and try one on first (that’s how much I hate rtw clothes shopping) but sewing makes me more brave with fashion. Luckily I LOVE it, I wore it a lot during winter, vests are cool!

The JJ is my tried and true blouse pattern that I always turn too when I need a new blouse – this is my third version (check out versions one and two) – I went through a phase where every time I went fabric shopping all I could see was JJ fabric.

Also I LOVE RUFFLES! Who doesn’t?!

Seriously though, this princess seamed blouse pattern is amazing for fit and adjustability. You don’t have to put on the ruffles and I like the stand up collar, it’s a bit more modern but you could totally change that out, and the sleeves. Did I mention it’s a FREE PATTERN?

Do it!

More recently I’ve put myself on a bit of a blouse ban and am currently obsessed with dresses.

Because: grown up, want pretty dresses!

But I still love this JJ, fabric from Spotlight I think, or maybe somewhere else. It’s just a simple cotton, a tad on the thin side but pretty colours, nice to wear and perfect for under the vest, over jeans or tucked into a high-waisted pencil skirt.

Right, that’s all, I’ll drop you back in 2013 shortly, but first we’ll just pop back to 2010 for that fabric sale I missed…

If only! 😉

*The Fourth Doctor, Doctor Who, “The Androids of Tara”

19 thoughts on “Gosh, that takes me back… or forward. That’s the trouble with time travel, you can never remember*

  1. Great garments, and a great combo! They look awesome on you too. And thanks for the link to the blouse… I’d I ever get back to sewing I want to do the opposite to you and go on a top making spree!

  2. I love your Tardis sewing machine! So cool! The JJ is definitely cute, I downloaded it ages ago, but never got round to making it up, possibly because it first needs to be stuck together… Your version is very pretty.

    • Ohh! I spy another Wellington sewist! 🙂 If you are ever in the mood for catching up with some other like-minded ladies you are welcome to join the Wellington Sewing Bloggers at our next catch up. We have a pre-Christmas picnic planned for December 8th, we’d love you to join us and we are awesome, promise 😉

      Wellington Sewing Bloggers Network

      Thanks, after three versions I think I have ruffles out of my system for a while, now I am hooked on piping, more piping 😉

      • Hi! Yes, I’m very sure you are all awesome and I would love to join you and the WSB network but think it will have to be next year now. But I will keep in touch.

        • Yay, I totally understand this time of year can be so crazy, hopefully we can meet you in 2014 🙂

          We are seeing the TePapa WOW exhibit in January and have a zoo meet planned for February – I will tempt you further with the fact that several of the girls are amazing knitters (I saw you have Johanna from Making It Well in your blog roll) and they are willing to teach 😉

          We have been scheming about a possible Miette knit-along, it might take us newbies a while but maybe some of us will have a cardi by Winter 2014 (or maybe 2015! Haha)

  3. Even if you had just posted the tardis sewing machine I would have wanted to be your friend for life! Love it (and am counting down to the episode to be shown on the 23rd Nov – eek!)
    However, you then went on to show a fabulous waistcoat/vest, and a very nice blouse.
    Do you need a new best friend?

  4. Perhaps you should say the Androids of Tawa 🙂 Cute blouse and waistcoat. I love the back on the double breasted one. As for the blouse, that is so lovely. Project Runway are cool patterns, I love the way you can play with the croquis.

  5. Nice vest! And nice blouse! The ruffles of the blouse look really cute underneath the vest. I really like the fabric of the vest and the backdetail is a nice surprise!

  6. Oooh, a blast from the past!! Well, not THAT past. I think this outfit is adorable, love the vest. ANd, yes, I also love ruffles. Think they add such fun to a blouse or dress.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx