Patrones 289 (February 2010)

So I originally began posting a small write-up of the Patrones magazines over on ning.com but the formatting was awful and my words kept getting bumped together and crazy extra spaces and random font changes drove me mad so I thought I would re-post them here as my future magazine reviews will be posted here from now on so you can collect the whole set! 🙂

Originally posted March 4th 2010 (excuse the formatting):

I thought I’d write a bit of a blog here (I don’t have my own, but I am toying with the idea of starting one) about something that I got very excited about this week, my Patrones magazine arrived. It’s the second in my first ever 1 year subscription but since the first issue was children’s clothes and I do not have children this magazine feels like the first all of my own. There seems to be very little information available for Patrones and also La Mia Boutique magazines (which I have also subscribed to), especially for us sewers outside of Europe. So I thought I’d write a little about this issue here to inspire anyone else and help those thinking of subscribing.
Let me know if you are interested, I’ll be happy to post info on future issues as I get them.

(Click on any images to see full-sized)

There is a lot to like in this issue but considering we have just been through a heat wave where our weekend temperatures barely dropped below 42 degrees Celsius (and my air-con was broken) it’s no wonder I am drawn first off to 4 amazing summer dresses.

I am currently sewing the Butterick 5454 wrap dress, my first wrap dress ever so I love this sophisticated version
and I hope I can find some similar amazing fabric to make my own version of this dress (#10) on page 12.

I also love this shift style dress (#11) on page 13, I’ve seen some lovely light linen that is perfect for it. Even though I am not sure about the style suiting my figure I can also see it as a dress to pull over the bikini at the beach or beside the pool.

This fabric is haunting me. I first saw it at my local Spotlight and hummed and hawed over buying it. It’s a printed satin with insects all over, from butterflies to locusts, in the end I worried it was a bit weird for me and left it behind. Since then I have seen a curiously similar dress on Gok’s Fashion Fix and now in this! Needless to say it’s no longer at Spotlight so guess I’ll have to hope  it comes back in next season. I’ve been after a cute halter maxi for a while to make up in a printed cotton I got when I visited home (Wellington, NZ – fabric is the best souvenir) last year so this dress (#12) on page 15 is on my list too, although it looks like I’ll need to get hold of one of those fantastic “U” bras first, phew, that bust line is seriously low!

I love this dress’ bodice (#15) on page 20, the pleating looks wonderful and I love the empire cut, and it’s the kind of dress that could be in a casual summery fabric like it is shown here or made up in something a bit sparkly with some wonderful heels to become an evening dress.

As with Burda the Patrones magazine has a Plus sized section also, I really like this dress (#67) on page 50, the cute wrap style belt and pleated front looks very flattering and has   trying to grade it down to my size. Overall I am super pleased with this magazine issue and I am also looking forward to next month, it is a Joven issue (“Young”) and the last one I saw at a club meet   of patterns that I liked also. They give us a little peak of the cover in the back, the blouse looks sweet and it looks like the beach in the background so perhaps some more fun summer styles? We’ll see…

2 thoughts on “Patrones 289 (February 2010)

    • Hi Nichola, I order my magazines directly from RBA Edipresse, if you send an email to suscripciones@rba.es asking about an Australian subscription they will reply back with a price, around 80-100 euros for 1 year. You can pay with your credit card or direct deposit into their bank account. You get a letter in Spanish in the mail next then the magazines start arriving. I get each issue around the 2nd of each month and I am 1 month behind but so far they have been great! I am going to post my review for 291 (April) today, goodluck xx

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

