Patrones 290 (March 2010)

Originally posted April 18th 2010:

Hello again, I’ve had my Patrones 290 issue for about 2 weeks so I’ve been a bit slack posting about it but not because there isn’t anything to write about, this is another great issue.

I think because I am currently in denial that Winter is almost here the bright fun summer patterns are helping me continue to cling to the remnants of Summer. This issue contains a lot of cute shorts and a section dedicated to trousers & pants but the tops and dresses are currently top of my list.

First up the cover blouse which I have looked forward to since the sneak peak in last months issue and I am not disappointed. The cute floral fabric is nice but hides some great detailing and I can see me making this blouse in a plain or patterned fabric.

I really like this top because of a failed attempt at a similar top from the Burda magazines. It ended up as a large rectangle of fabric and looked awful on me. I realise now I need to look more closely at the line drawings to determine that there are at least some darts or princess seaming to help give the garment some shape for me and this pattern ticks those boxes, now to see if I can selvage enough fabric from my previous failed attempt…

I love the entire next section titled “Colour & Sensuality” it makes me feel brave enough to work in bright colours and this first blouse it amazing. I am a bit hooked on the BurdaStyle JJ blouse but after two I am not sure if I can get away with making another so this Patrones pattern might be the answer, it’s different enough and has great detailing for a plain but brightly coloured cotton.

A small concession to approaching Winter this cute jacket has such nice sleeves and I like the elastic waist and I like the idea of wearing it open with a belt on top, very Gok.

Another dress with great bodice detailing, this one gives us some amazing smocking and while I wouldn’t usually go for this style the cinching ribbon at the waist makes me think I could just about pull this off, so I just might try

These shorts one of my favourites in this issue, I really like the pleating detail and cuff and look great with the chunky belt

The next issue previews shows us a Fashion Fiesta themed cover promising “dresses for day and night”, “The new Tuxedo” and “wedding dresses”, should be another great issue.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

