Happy 1st Birthday BSC Perth!

This month our Perth BurdaStyle Sewing Club celebrates 1 year of socially sewing together. It’s been a really fun year and we have gotten up to a lot of mischief and fun and made a whole pile of wonderful new friends. Sandra and I had no idea how big this club would eventually get and new members are contacting us all the time. Perth is full of talented sewers and I feel our ‘little’ club has plugged a large gap in the social sewing group scene.

The next 12 months are planned to be just as exciting with as many fresh new ideas as we have members! First up in September we have a thrift store challenge and then we’ll be getting into Christmas mode with a few fun stocking-stuffer sew-alongs. If you’ve heard of us and been a  bit shy, or reading about us for the first time you are more than welcome to come along and meet us. Why don’t you pop on over to our ning site to request membership (we have to control the spammers, but you’ll get approved almost instantly) then you can see what we’ve been up to over the last year and jump right in and participate. You’ll get invites to new meets and enjoy all the fun that our social sewing group has to offer, I promise you’ll enjoy yourself, get excellent sewing help and be inspired to sew more. We look forward to meeting you soon xx

Here are a few pics from our fun day:

We had presents (secret Santa style)

We had cake complete with miniature bunting

Plenty of tasty food and drink

And here is everyone who was able to attend

(front to back, left to right):

Debra, Sarah, Cherie, Sandi, Elizabeth, Carolyn

Melissa, Jacquie, Gill, Kate, Sandra

Vanessa, Kadi & Libby

4 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday BSC Perth!

  1. Many thanks for you detailed response. I appreciate you taking the time to look up the links.

    I have emailed the publishers and await their response. Will let you know how I get on!

    I am curious about how I’ll get on with LMB – but it’ll be nice to see some Italian style instead of my usual BWOF German offerings.

    Cheers Mary Nanna

    • Oh good 🙂 I do like their style, just a note on sizing, I find my LMB size is one larger than my Burda size (i.e. I cut a Burda 42 and an LMB 44) I just finished a blouse and found the arms a bit tight so I had to adjust the buttons but apart from that sizing is pretty good.

  2. congratulations on reaching the end of year 1. Sounds like you’ve had a lot of fun!

    I found your blog because I was looking for La Mia Boutique subscribers – where did you get your subscription from? i read your blogroll and it seems you were ambilvalent about it – so I thought I’d just try a half year subscription.

    if you reply in comments I’ll come back and check. Thanks!

    • Hi Mary,
      Thank you so much for your comments, we’ve definitely enjoyed our first year! 🙂 I do like LMB and I would like to re-subscribe, I’m sort of torn because when it’s a good issue, it’s a really good issue. But I also have two other subscriptions and LMB is the most expensive of the three and I need to cut back, I have one issue left to arrive this month, maybe in 6 months I will start it again. So originally I subscribed through this site: http://www.magazinecafe.co.uk for 6 months (76 pounds or 152 pounds for 12 months) but I have researched a cheaper option direct with the publisher, email this address: abbonamenti@diffusioneeditoriale.it and ask about a subscription to NZ, you should get a reply in about 3 days, to me here in Perth it is 115 euros (about 93 pounds – so a lot cheaper than mag cafe!). Good luck, I’d love to hear how you go since I will be returning to NZ in about 1 year and I hope I can still get all my magazines in NZ 🙂 xx

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

