Self Stitched September – Week 1 round-up

Here is a quick round up of my first week of Self Stitched September, it was a short week, which was nice to ease into the whole month of wearing mostly me-made-clothes. Since all my me-made-clothes so far have been pretty much just for work or fancy-going-out clothes I won’t be wearing them on the weekend, instead I will dedicate a large chunk of time to sewing and preparing rescuing a few items from my UFO pile to wear the following week and documenting new items for uploading to my BurdaStyle Studio. I will share with you my weekend progress in place of my outfit.

1st – Zoe dress – see previous post

2nd –Sea Cucumber JJ blouse with Jenny skirt (which I haven’t even posted yet!), my tights are just some cheapies from Coles (I think) and boots from Joanne Mercer (I LOVE them!).

3rd – Today has reminded me that I don’t have any me-made pants…I have made pants before so it’s not out of fear, its more that since sewing them for myself I have begun to love dresses! (This needs to be rectified and I have fabric and patterns set out but with Summer fast approaching they may have to wait until next Winter, more dresses!) So today I wear some purchased pants from Portmans with a new top Simplicity 2364 (also not posted yet) with my Stella Jacket and shoes from Nine West. This jacket really only goes with my dark jeans and a black top so I am glad I finally have something to wear with it. I can also see this top with a sequinned crop jacket for going out…it’s not far down the list.

4th – My Saturday got ambushed by a certain fiancé who took me on a trip to Bunbury but that’s a whole other long story. When I got home I managed a quick trip to Spotlight for a longer zipper for my Patrones jeans which are very close to being finished. I also found the perfect lining for my fiancés jacket and started this Butterick top 5495 using fabric from my Melbourne trip.

5th – On Sunday I kept a promise and finally cut out my fiancés Stinchcomb jacket, no excuses left after picking up the perfect lining fabric and shoulder pads on Saturday. All I need now is some horsehair for lapels and collar but I can begin piecing it together during the week.

Phew, now, on to this week, a full 5 days of me-made-clothes but luckily the weather is promising sunshine and little rain, hello Spring, welcome back…

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

