Patrones 296 (September 2010)

Surprise! Super amazing bonus Patrones issue!…and it’s early! But I can’t sew anything from it just yet, there’s my wedding dress still awaiting amazing things. Cannot. Allow. Distractions!

But that’s ok, I can still share the goodies inside with you lucky readers!

.

.

As I suspected I did not receive the extra Grandes issue but that’s fine because this magazine so makes up for it. First of all check out the amazing fabric on the cover dress, beautiful, I am so jealous, Perth fabric shops take note!

This issue contains lots of cute jackets and pants but I am feeling a bit all jacketed and panted out since the last issue and since it is ramping up to summer here I am in skirt and dress mode (or I will be properly in February when I return as a Mrs, joy!)

So lets start with a dress, how cute is this? It looks like a bustier over a blouse but it’s a one piece, yummy and a bit sexy with the pseudo corset front.

.

.

.

.

These two outfits are cute too, the vest is nice and simple with a tuxedo twist in the collar and look: ruffles! You all know how much I love ruffles! Also I never thought check could look so good, must find some fabric just like this. The pants are ok, but I’m not a big fan of front pleats in pants (on guys or girls), reminds me too much of the uniform pants that were compulsory at my college (high school). First of all they were ridiculously expensive and secondly, due to the outdated pleats, they made us all look pregnant, just what a 14 year old girl wants. So there was a mass revolt and all the girls bought $19.95 black flare pants from Glassons. Since we were ALL wearing them (as in 350 students) they couldn’t do much about it and so it became the norm. 7th formers (Year 13) at the start of year camp would tell the new and uninitiated 3rd formers (Year 9) to go buy their black pants at Glassons. Ahh the memories.

Ok, so I’ll share one nice coat from this issue, beautiful and emerald green, the line drawing doesn’t do much for it but the model (slightly Uma Therman don’t you agree?) looks like she loves it! And so do I.

.

.

.

This top is great, ruffley/gathery/ruchey goodness, very interesting and I love the pants, great pockets, I’d probably add a flare to the leg or make them wide leg.

.

.

.

.

Patrones is still not above a little “wft?!” ala LMB style, mmm, nice!
.

.

.

.

.

I am skipping a whole pile of pages (ahh someone else in a cooler climate will blog those I am sure) to SKIRTS! So many wonderful, wonderful SKIRTS! Short, pleated and pencil, they’re all in here and all of them are fabulous.

The plus section in this issue is pretty good too, here are my favourites, #’s 54, 55 & 56 amazing! And the jersey-licious dress #57 is really pretty, yummy colour choice too.

.

.

Next months issue is a Party issue, I remember the last one was pretty good so I’ve got my hopes up already. We are promised ‘prom dresses’ (ohh), ‘soft textures’ (ok), ‘many proposals’ (huh?) and ‘a plus of elegance’ (I’ve got to stop using Google Translate for this! My Spanish speaking work colleague isn’t here today – yes, my work colleague speaks Spanish, you may worship me…actually she’s not much help with sewing terms but it’s fun to have her read them out aloud!) I guess we’ll see what the elegance and proposals are next month.

8 thoughts on “Patrones 296 (September 2010)

  1. Are there any other translators that work better than google? I can’t believe how bad it was! I wish this magazine was available in English.

    • There is babel fish but it’s about the same…I only find it helpful for giving me a rough idea of construction order but then only just 🙂 Another tip I can give you is to jump onto BurdaStyle because you can look up similar patterns and read the instructions without purchasing the pattern, that might help you.

  2. Its a good issue but a bit the same as last one.
    Yesterday I’ve cut the blouse 18 an skirt 33( but made it like the Lanvin skirt on the photo, seen it on netaporter) and tunic 1 from n°295without the pleats an a sleevles coat like A. wang.
    I always look first to luxury labels and copy the model if I find the right fabric. Next week( I,am from Belgium) its oulet sale at Dries Van Noten so a lot off special (expensive) fabrics. So now I’ll start sewing!

  3. Hi! 🙂 My first comment on your blog (congrats for it!). I really like the stuff you sew 😉
    I just bought the Party Issue of Patrones Magazine this week. You will really like it! (I’m a spanish girl leaving in Ireland at the moment, so everytime I’m back home I try to buy the magazine :))
    I still didn’t sew anything myself, although I know the basics… my mum was the one sewing the things for me although I was making all the rest 😉 Now I have bought a nice sewing machine, and not really sure about what I want to do first… hahaha

    • Ohh I cannot wait, it sounds good, thanks for letting mo know, hopefully it arrives early like my last issue! It’s so good to hear you want to start sewing yourself, it’s such a great feeling to wear clothing made for you, by you 🙂 I suggest you start with a few simple projects (like an apron or basic skirt) to help get familiar with your sewing machine, have fun with all the different stitches and experiment with tension etc. Best of luck, I’d love to see some of your creations xx

  4. Looks like a fabulous issue (though I am several issues behind you), I love your run-down so I can see what is in each mag before I buy it 🙂

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

