Manequim 617 (November 2010)

Right, let’s finish up with these manequims shall we? I received a second issue entitled November which is awesome. I didn’t receive December however and January is already here so I may have to send an email to find out what’s happened.

Something great that I have noticed about these magazines is that they seem to align more with the Australian seasons. So while we swelter here in close to 40 degrees I am looking at beautiful summer outfits instead of winter coats for a change, which is nice.

We start with another celebrity themed spread, ‘romantic Marcela’ and I really love these two dresses, very romantic indeed. The pink shoes are cute as well 🙂

.

.

The next section seems to be all about the ‘mini’ as in short skits and dresses. I’m not so good with the super short stuff but this top is cute. I would make it in a softer fabric, this one looks a little stiff, and I’d drop the neckline a tad. There is a lot of detail in the sleeve head. If you choose to make this in a transparent fabric as it is shown you also get a pattern for the shift underneath which I think is good.

..

.

It took me a while to work out if these were shorts or a skirt, turns out it’s a skirt but I really like the front detail, an inverted pleat and bow, kind of a faux skort, no?

.

.

.

.

I’m just throwing this one out there to see the reactions. I’m not a harem pants girl, I probably never will be (although I said I’d never be a high-waist kind of girl either and I’ve since made 4 high-waisted skirts) and now Manequim is having a crazy La Mia Boutique moment and trying to give us harem shorts perhaps? Not for me but I’ll salute anyone else brave enough to give them a go and wear them in public.

.

.

This section is “Summer Hits” and they are several perfect pieces for our WA summer right now, like this beautiful breezy looking linen number. The top detail is really nice with a crossover design in the v-neck.

.

.

..


Another beautiful number. This is another top to help break me of my “blouse” habit 😉

.

.

.

.

Last up in this section is another jumpsuit…someones trying to tell me something I am sure…

.

.

.

.

There was an entire section on swim wear with patterns for different body shapes. Nothing really grabbed me to be honest and the “busty” section was really just bikinis that were far too small for the “busty” girls. I did like this beach cover up though and the fabric is a cute choice.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

