Manequim 618 & 620 (December 2010 & February 2011)

Well what do you know? December’s Manequim showed up along with February’s. And what else? Two Patrones within a day of each other, this week was magazine bonus week! They are all awesome issues so I can’t complain. Being in Australia I guess I just have to accept that delivery for these magazines is a but wishy washy and I’m really just grateful that I can subscribe.

I have to admit, right now, not so much feeling the Burda magazine love and in fact I’ve got a few I’m going to put up on ebay, hence my lack of Burda mash-ups for 2011. I honestly think when my Burda Subscription runs out I’ll just continue with Patrones and Manequim, better value, better patterns. I might even give La Mia Boutique another go. I can always grab any good individual issues from Boarders, they’re only 3 months behind and therefore more aligned with the Australian seasons anyway.

But enough of that, on to pattern heaven:

.

.

.

.

.

.

December’s issue starts with some amazing summer dresses – The Carolina Herrera section has a cute colour blocked dress and jacket and OMG check out those shoes, so hawt!

.

.

.

.

In “fluid dresses” we have three more summer dresses, romantic and beautiful and definitely fluid, great for the beach.

I’ve got a thing for shorts at the moment, partly, I believe, because I’ve never made a pair and also because it’s so stinking hot right now (have I complained about how hot it is yet?) so “New Year, your way” gives us a cute pair of paper bag waisted shorts and an interesting blouse, I think the sleeve/armhole lines could be really slimming.

.

.

I’m not normally a one-shoulder-dress kind of girl but this dress is pretty hot, suggested for Pear shapes. Next door, for the Ovals, we have cute polka dots. I really like the neckline, it’s similar to a vintage style dress I’ve admired on another blog.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

February’s issue starts with a little biker-bling and I love this jacket with off-centre zipper and funky shoulder detail.

.

.

.

.

Checking out the style of Mayana Neiva I quite like this wrap dress, super flattering.

.

.

.

.

This blouse in the Stella McCartney section is beautiful, I love the arms (similar to one of the tops from December’s issue above) and the dress is really nice too, sort of similar to the Macaron by Colette Patterns (LOVE Colette Patterns!)

.

.

.

I’ve been contemplating a trench-coat style dress for a couple of years (they don’t seem to have gone out of fashion yet) and I like this one for it’s simple details and the belt is great too but I think I’d steer away from the safari tones…just to be different.

.

.

.

In the jeans styling section there’s another jacket and this great blouse, I really like the front pleats and the sleeve detailing.

.

.

.

.

Last up we have a section showing an item worn two-ways and these bermudas (See? More shorts!) are great and next to them is a simple looking but cute top, check out the pattern pieces, interesting.

.

..

I’ll get to those Patrones magazines tomorrow but for now if you want to see more Manequim choices then you can check out Melissa’s February selections here.

6 thoughts on “Manequim 618 & 620 (December 2010 & February 2011)

    • It so is! One week I’m wishing for a magazine to show up and the next week I can’t keep up. They are so good though. My next project is from a recent Manequim but I’m going to have to grade it down, wish me luck! 🙂

      • How do you go about grading single size patterns? I can grade multi-sized ones down using the other sizes as a guide but can’t figure out how to do that with single sizes. Also, I agree totally with you guys on burda’s crashing ‘style’…

        • Hi Tj, I am actually working on grading a size 48 Manequim pattern down to my measurements right now, I am almost finished my muslin…if it all works out I will definitely post about it in the next week or two with a little tutorial 🙂 (I am actually hoping to finish this weekend but I don’t want to promise anything) Sign up for my email updates to grab my RSS feed to keep in touch xx
          And back to Burda again…oh dear, nothing new to report for March, glad I am not alone!

  1. I cannot agree more about the Burda Magazines. Last two issues were so dull… I am so disappointed with them, it’s like they don’t care about us readers any more. They use the same pattern for 4-5 garments, almost nothing is sophisticated or stylish, everything was already seen before. I renewed my subscription in October… so I really really hope the last issues were a temporary thing 😦

    • Absolutely, you put it so well, a big lack of sophistication and style, very samey samey. I’ve noticed the styles are much less fitted now too, it seems like lazy design to me.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

