Manequim 621 (March 2011)

I was going to post this Manequim up AFTER posting Patrones 302 but I have somehow managed to lose the files I so carefully scanned and edited yesterday. I am blaming it on Photoshop and it’s tendency for picking a random folder when saving instead of the one I assumed I was working in. They are in my computer somewhere but do you think I can find them?

.

.

So this months Manequim is by far my favourite issue ever. I think it’s helped by the abundance of wrap-style dresses and the fact that I seem to have amassed a lot of pretty jersey prints in my stash that I am dying to use and add that these dresses are either in my size or one up/one down, so little to no drafting for me = Yay!

Let’s start with one of those dresses first shall we? We’ve seen this famous lady in a previous issue, I think she’s gorgous just like this dress. It’s got a sort of dropped waist with a tie and some diagonal pleating. I’m a fan of v-necklines on me and I think it would be very quick to whip up.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Another v-neckline and a cute bow at the back. This isn’t actually a wrap dress, I can spot a zipper at center-back, but I love the cut, nothing particularly exciting design-wise but another quick dress and it is a multi-sized pattern 42/44/46/48, perfect!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I love the designer section this month, based on Moschino, below are my picks

Isn’t the heart fabric amazing? It’s got a sort of Escher quality to the print and cute hearts. I like how they completely change the look with a belt and hot little heels. A  ruffled blouse, need I say more? Looks great with the pants and the cute tulip skirt. Speaking (well, writing actually) of tulip skirts, I’ve never made one before thinking it wouldn’t suit me but on an image I’ve not pictured they have it marked for the ‘ampulheta’ figure, which is hourglass, which is definitely me so maybe I’ll give one a go, and hey, now I have a pattern, albeit in a size 38.

I scanned this image just to show you the belt, I really love it and need to find one just like it or make one…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I think the next section is suggested styles for ladies in their 40s and 50s…but I love them anyway, to be honest I don’t see anyting particular about them that marks them as being for that age group 😉

The pants have a nice pleat detail down the front of the legs and I love a good flare/wide leg pant. The top is cute too, I wish they’d included the pattern for it. Then we have two more dresses, both in size 44 which is, give or take, my Manequim size, excellent.

I’ve saved my absolute favourite for last. I just LOVE this whole outfit, the shorts are beautiful: pleats, buttons, pockets, cuffs, I want them badly! The blazer suits them perfectly, great proportions. They are sized 42 so a little bit of jiggery and they’re all mine.

The top pattern is not included but they show it later on in full and I reckon I would whip that up even with my limited knowledge then it’s just a matter of hunting down the perfect shoes 🙂

.

.

.

.

To wrap it all up here’s one of the recipes from this month, the whole section is pizzas so ofcourse I’m drawn to the desert offering, hehe, that’s not going to help me get into the shorts above but I don’t care 😉

11 thoughts on “Manequim 621 (March 2011)

  1. Hi again, FYI there is a new magazine listed on eBay. It’s called Molda Moldes and it’s from Brazil. I don’t read Spanish but it does say on the front that there are some plus sizes. Or I think it says that. Have you seen this one?

  2. I absolutely LOVE a few of these dresses! Where do you get this magazine and how does their sizing compare to let’s say Burda. I’m a beginner sewer and not quite ready for these magazines but I’m determined to get there. The other problem is that I’m currently a plus size. I love the Patrones patterns from their XXL. Does Manequim stop at 48 always? I’m a 50 and not confident about making these a bit larger although for simpler designs it might not be too difficult. Love your blog!!

    • Aww thanks Lisabeth, it’s great to hear from you! 🙂

      I find my Manequim size is about one bigger than Burda Size, I made up a comparison chart here when I blogged about my first issue but I only went up to a Burda 52, the Manequim equivalent would be a 56 (bust: 122, waist: 106, hips:128cm). I flicked through a few other issues and I didn’t see any patterns above a 48 and unfortunately it doesn’t seem like they do a regular Plus section like Burda and Patrones. In issue 616 they did a section on Queen Latifa’s Style and the sizes were 46 up to 54 and then in issue 618 a section with sizes from 46 – 52 and the styles were really nice. If you’d like I’ll scan them this week and post them up, I am sure you’re not the only reader wondering.

      I think when you get confidant enough with your sewing and you feel ready to take on these amazing magazines you might have to look at learning a little bit of pattern re-sizing/drafting. I am making my first Manequim top right now, I’ll post up a tutorial on how I re-sized the pattern soon, hopefully it works out 😉

      I have put all my magazine subscription info here so have a read and when you’re ready go for it, I love this magazine. It might be worth even emailing the distributor and asking if they do a separate Plus sized issue.

      • Thank you for your long reply. I really appreciate it. I think I need to do a few more garments before even taking on these magazines and I then I have the Patrones and Burdas in XXL. I think I’m a Burda size 50 and trying hard to lose weight. It’s so difficult for me! I really enjoy your blog and I’d love to see how you alter any patterns.
        Also I agree the fabrics do really make the clothes. I love beautiful fabrics and look forward to seeing what you use.
        For those of you who want Manequim, one was just listed on eBay.
        Thansks again.

        • I’m glad I can help Leah 🙂 I had a bit of a set back with my pattern alteration (I couldn’t get it over my hips! Oops!) but I think I fixed it last night. I’ll do a post on it later in the week about the muslin and what I did to alter the pattern, maybe I’ll pick out three fabrics from my stash and get some opinions on which I should make the final garment from, that’s always fun and I’ll try out inserting a voting poll thingee to the post, just like a grown up blog, hehe.
          I think the great thing about sewing (apart from all the delicious fabrics) is that anyone can look amazing in well made, well fitted clothes no matter their size. The Patrones XXL stuff is great though, so fashion forward, I think the nicest plus sized patterns I’ve seen, they actually care about the designs. Good luck with your weight loss journey (and your sewing journey) and thanks for reading xx

  3. Lovely dresses .You can find them in any pattern magazine, but its the choice of print and colour thats attracs you. It makes me jalouse! The short jacket it super.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

