Manequim 622 (April 2011)

This post is very late due to no internet and me wringing every inspirational sewing droplet out of the last two magazines I received before jumping on the plane. I have re-directed all my magazines and already received the next Patrones but this in the only one I have managed to scan for now.


.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I love a good versatile/infinity style pattern and this wrap/cape/cardi is really interesting. It’s simple in shape, a rectangle with armholes and buttons at the ends, and it’s nice they include the modesty singlet as well. I like the first and third stylings the most.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

From the celebrity copy-cat section I have selected this fun summer top and pretty dress. I also couldn’t go past the flared pant, I don’t care what anyone says, flared leg pants will always be around and since they are the most flattering cut for my body shape I’ll wear flared leg jeans/pants forever. The black dress may or may not be a true wrap dress but I love the waist detail, it looks super flattering as well.

The central style section had much less patterns than usual this issue. I’ve picked out this pencil skirt for it’s interesting panelling, nice as is or easy to colour block for a completely different look.

I’ve been toying with the idea of doing a sort of capsule wardrobe to get my style on track. I seem to sew a bit disjointed sometimes and I end up with a lot of items I LOVE but that don’t go with anything else I have sewn or own. I’ve started a list and been gathering ideas and one thing I just realised I haven’t got on my list is an LBD. This one is simple but cute with enough detail to keep it from being boring but make it versatile.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Love this purple top, it’s a great shape, interesting panels and fun to jazz up with beading.

I had to put in the jumpsut since it’s been so hotly debated and defended on various blogs recently which I find funny since it coincided with a similar lunchtime debate at a recent impromptu lunch with the Perth BSC girls. I’m not so sure about this one above since the pockets seem to look a little bit like wings and my hips need no help in that area 🙂

And then because the weather outside has turned from sunshine to horrible, and this is the April issue, here’s some yummy chocolate!

2 thoughts on “Manequim 622 (April 2011)

  1. This is a brilliant issue of manequim. I really like the infinity wrap shirt thing, could you maybe post a picture of the pattern pieces as well? That way I can easily copy it 😉

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

