Manequim 627 & 628 (September & October 2011)

Ahhhh slowly catching up…apologies that these images aren’t my usual quality, the scanner I am using is good at making copies of several pages but when I try to open them up in Photoshop for editing they are all cropped @ 19cm square.  I like to think I’m pretty good with image editing software and I know my fair share of tricks but after playing with these images on and off for two weeks (because I refuse to re-scan them again) I am stumped. So, here they are anyway 😉

Starting with Manequim 627:

.

.

.

I really love the cover skirt, the side panelling is really nice, I think it would look amazing in black and white. And the yellow dress with knot/twist detail is something I’ve wanted to try for a white…not sure how I’ll get along with no English instructions for this one but they do have a nice diagram in the instructions.

I feel like the designer patterns section has gotten smaller these last few issues. There are as many looks as before, but les patterns. This month is Balenciaga and we get a really cute sheer top and shift dress.

In the “Day-to-Day” section there is a nice sporty skirt and funky 60s mod dress…and a jump suit…is it just me or is Manequim just a little obsessed with jumpsuits right now?

“Dresses of the Decades” is my favourite section this month, probably because I have been so busy researching the 1930s.

Yup! Definitely obsessed with jumpsuits…what is going on with that poor woman’s crotch? I’m not sure if the fly just finishes too high or if the crotch really is that low…cute top next door, love that sleeve.

Ok, let’s do another one shall we? Manequim 628:

.

.

.

I thought this romantic skirt was a dress at first, maybe the original one is, but it wouldn’t take much to whip up a matching top. I’ve never tried a serious bit of pleating before, I saw that episode of Project Runway where one of the designers used a pleating board, they are very expensive but there are a few tutorials online of how to make your own.

Ok, I have to admit I am running out of words…this skirt panelling is fabulous and I like the wrap top detail. I need to find some spotty sheer fabric!

Aaaand more jump suits to finish! I’ll get the last two Patrones up soon because my next Manequim issue is waiting at the post office for me to pick up. Shall we take a guess at how many jump suits are in that issue? 😉 I’ll guess two, any advance on two? 😉

2 thoughts on “Manequim 627 & 628 (September & October 2011)

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

