Sewing Magazines in the City

The great thing about working in Wellington’s CBD is that I can pretty much walk to all my appointments. This means I get to wander down lots of different streets that I haven’t done before and discover new shops.

On my way to a meeting last week I passed a new coffee/magazine shop that looked chock full of “alternative” magazines so I made a mental note to pop back later for a visit.

“Later” came today and I am so glad I went back, they not only have Burda (at a ridiculously cheap price compared to what I was paying in Australia – remember I ditched my subscription and I refuse to pick it up again even though Burda have gotten better for fear of jinxing the next issue) they also have Burda Plus, and a whole stack of others I didn’t even know existed (and heaps crochet and knitting mags as well).

Magnetix

Magntix: 39 Johnston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (old Wholly Bagels shop)

So, for my Wellington readers, here is the run down on their sewing magazine selection:

BurdaStyle
$13.00
Current issue in stock: September 2011

.

.

.

BurdaStyle Plus
$15.00
Current Issue in stock: Autumn/Winter 2011

.

.

.

Sew Hip
$14.50
Current Issue in stock: November 2011

.

.

.

Stitch
$31.00 (What?! I hope I read the price tab wrong because it’s much cheaper on the Interweave website even with shipping – plus you can buy an eMag – so click the link)
Current Issue in stock: Fall 2011

.

.

Sewing World

$13.90
Current Issue in stock: October 2011

.

.

.

Sew Beautiful
$12.00
Current Issue in stock: #139 2011

2 thoughts on “Sewing Magazines in the City

  1. Shoot… don’t even worry about the price just be glad they have a burda which isn’t six months out of date! That was all I could ever find in Auckland 😉

    • Aw shame! 😦 The shops in Perth were always 6 months behind too, and I paid AUD$18.00 an issue! So NZD$13.00 is a bargain 🙂 But I don’t like the current issue so I’ll pop back next month for October.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

