The BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook – Member Sketches

I noticed this morning that BurdaStyle have a gallery up of the member’s sketches from the BurdaStyle handbook:

It’s really cool to see everyone else’s sketches, not just for the garment I made but also all the other patterns as well.

Here’s my sketch, I was living in WA at the time and it was probably summer so I was in a beachy mood:

I actually did two sketches, this one and then a more business like one in crisp white with pin-tucks running down the front worn over a dark pencil skirt which I liked as well, when I find it (buried in my computer somewhere) I’ll post it up.

Apparently my finished garment is on page 111 but I don’t have my book yet, they just confirmed my address this week so fingers crossed it arrives as an early Christmas present 😉

I can tell you now that it isn’t pink. I got sent purple fabric instead which I wasn’t super enthusiastic about when it first arrived but in the end it looked good. We got sent thread as well but my thread turned up a day after the courier deadline, also it was orange, hehe, so good thing I didn’t wait and ended up using some from my stash.

11 sleeps to go! 🙂

4 thoughts on “The BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook – Member Sketches

  1. I just got my book in the mail yesterday – so exciting! So awesome to be included in a real book even if it is just one picture on page 84. In any case I can’t complain… a sewing book and patterns sent to me for free is amazing (living in the Japanese countryside means these things are particularly appreciated!) 😀 The book is really inspiring and I can’t wait to get started on making some of the patterns – i reckon the blouse is really cute.

    • Ohh I just got mine too! Your skirt is so cute! Love the lacy detail at the hem. I’m so excited to see my blouse, I was a bit disappointed that they didn’t photograph all the garments on models but I guess that would have taken forever. Yay for everyone who contributed, it’s a great book and I think I’ll try the dress first 😉

  2. I heard a lot of people didn’t like the fabric they were sent, how funny though that they would send you orange thread for purple fabric!
    Do you have any idea how they decided who would submit drawings? I always wondered about that.

    • I read a bit of that too, some submitters even went a bought their own fabric.

      I can’t remember the exact time frames, it’s been maybe 2 years since they first put up a post on the burdastyle site asking for members to sign up to help on a top secret project, you had to fill out a form about your sewing and link to your studio and all they told you is that it was a tight time frame. Then they selected members from that list and gave a bit more info, you had to list the 5 items in order that you like to sew. Then they cut the list again and those left got sent 2 pattern illustrations are were asked to submit two sketches for each, we were told that if your sketch was selected you would have to sew it up by a certain date. I got the bag and the blouse (I think I put blouse as my #1 choice), they got emailled back and then they selected again from there. I only had one sketch chosen, not sure about anyone else. It was fun, I’d love to do it again.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

