Patrones 313 (February 2012)

Things have been pretty hectic here at Curious HQ these last few weeks so I’m really sorry about the lack of exciting posts.  I am afraid the only piece of sewing I have cued up right now is a zipper repair for Mr Curious’ favourite work pants, oh yes, the excitement is hard to contain.

Those who can’t sew, buy:

Taking advantage of a recent Club BMV.com sale

Yes, there is a soft toy pattern hiding in there, I couldn’t help myself, they are so cute! Plus the rest of my wish list was Simplicity patterns and I needed a 7th B, M or V pattern to make the most of the ridiculous generous postage costs – $25.00 thank you very much, but it only cost them $11.26 to post it, mark up much?! I guess it could be worse, we could have lost the International Postage War, but we didn’t. However, per pattern, it’s still cheaper and more satisfying that waiting 6 months for the newest patterns to be released in NZ then driving down to Spotlight and queuing at the pattern counter for 20 minutes or longer (because there is never enough staff on) only to discover they don’t have the pattern you want in your size.

Thank you to everyone who messaged me happy thoughts the last couple of weeks, things are on the up and there is light at the end of the tunnel, so for now, here are some more pretty patterns:

I scanned heaps of pages from the magazine this month for some reason. I love the lines on this vest below, I’m not so crazy about the fabric choice, a bit casual for me. I think it could look amazing and professional in pinstriped suiting or beautiful and floaty in a sheer with French seams.

This vest is…well yeah…but how about the fabric on the dress, what an amazing print?!

More great fabric, cute pattern too, ohh, I feel like going fabric shopping…

…meh, more leather fringing…LOVE the wedges though, and her necklace and bag are interesting too.

Shirt dress (#12) is gorgeous, sort of reminds me of the BurdaStyle’s Heidi that I’ve had on my list for aaages. I forgot to check the pattern pieces but whether or not that pleated waist detail is a separate belt you could do something similar to the Heidi belt to make it even more fun.

Lots of the patterns in this issue have this sort of pink explosion tag on them that says “Costura Facil” (have a look at pattern number 8 above) which translates to “Easy Sewing”. I partially chopped most of them off during my editing but you can still see a little bit on the line drawings like below. This is definitely a nice easy pattern for beginner and would be a good starting pattern for someone new to the Patrones magazines.

It all gets a bit nautical in the next section: I quite like this singlet style top (except I do want to reach into the photo and tug it down a the back) but I’m not so sure about the shorts. That is one super high-waist. This coming from the kiwi who swore she’d never buy/wear a high-waisted skirt and then I went and made 4 of them! But on shorts? Hrmm, what do you think? Flattering or just plain weird?

I included these jeans because I think the pocket detail is great. I’m not a fan of the overall cut but I’d love to use the pattern pieces for the back pockets on my next pair of jeans.

The pink and black dresses below both have some great details that are hard to see and I missed them on my first flick through. Checking out the line drawings is really important with Patrones (and Manequim) or you’ll miss some amazing detailing.

‘Easy Sewing’ in the Plus section too, loving the lac detailing at the hem and sleeves of this dress.

Next month is the summer issue which will be fun to look at since summer is slowly sneaking away. Still, despite what everyone else is saying, I think we had an amazing summer and I’m hoping we get another bout of snow this winter, wee! This issue will apparently “prepare our wardrobes for the heat” with party dresses, original designs, several blouses and some retro chic.

8 thoughts on “Patrones 313 (February 2012)

  1. HOLA ME ENCANTO ESTE NUMERO. LO COMPRO MI MAMA ACA EN ARGENTINA PERO POR ERROR NO TRAJO LOS MOLDES SUPLEMENTO 3 Y 4, SOLO EL 1 Y 2 REPETIDOS Y EL 5. A QUIEN PUEDO RECLAMAR? GRACIAS

  2. Pingback: Impromptu Meetups | The Perfect Nose

  3. ooh, some lovely choices here! Like you, I really love that long dress AND the gorgeous fabric it is made of. How beautiful!
    I hope you do make up that Vogue skirt pattern. It is a lovely shape, unfortunate that the envelope photo does not show up the details!

  4. Dress 12 is verry narrow (made it in choco linnen color), also top 14 in satin aqua print, but not finiched. Its a good issue.

  5. Hi and glad things are on the mend and I hope you are getting a few of the lovely autumnal rays over the last few days.

    I as ever and wondering about getting Patrones. Not sure and its not as if I need another magazine until I get sorted with actually using more of the patterns from them :o)

    • I totally understand, I often feel a bit guilty that I don’t sew much from them (but I hope to change that when everything settles down again) but when I think about allt e money I used to spend of fashion magazines I don’t feel bad any more 😉 because at least from these “fashion” magazines I can make what I like, hehe. If you do get hooked (I take full responsibility, hehe) check out my magazines subscription page: https://thecuriouskiwi.wordpress.com/magazines/ for the best ways to subscribe xx

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

