Manequim 636 (May) 2012 (plus FREE pattern alert!)

I had a quick catch up with the Wellington Fabric Hoarders girls on Sunday which was super fun. I just chatted while flicking through some retro sewing books I picked up at a book fair and some magazines that Gillian brought along and I saw a sewing machine that sews without a foot, crazy but true!

Desperate for some new sewing goodies to help me get through my enforced sewing “holiday”, today I went down to the magazine shop near my work with the intention of picking up April’s BurdaStyle but after a flick through I put it back on the shelf and decided to save my money for spending on fabric instead, here’s why:

Still on the shelf

I was initially interested in the top/dress with funky looking sleeves but Melissa’s post has saved me from wasting my time (and silk) on sleeves that don’t look anywhere near as glamorous in real life, that’s a genuine huge thank you xx isn’t the sewing blog-world wonderful that way?

I also liked this lace top which was featured in a couture sewing article on BurdaStyle recently but a closer look and I realised it’s just a couple of rectangles and I am drawn more to the lace overlay effect than the actual pattern. I was confident I could draft that up myself or if not I’d have something similar enough in my pattern stash. Then, while putting together the images for this post, I saw that they give you the drafting instructions for FREE on the website!! Ack! If you totally missed it like me, go get it for yourself right now.

The other item I liked is this cropped/short sleeved jacket (or is it technically a vest?) but again it’s more the style rather than the actual pattern I am drawn to and, as evidenced by the one million* similar patterns in my stash, I’ve been considering making up a pattern like this for a while.

Evidence A:

All of the above is now added to my mental “to sew” list. Did you buy the April issue? I know it’s been a long time ago for those of you who subscribe or can buy it the month it comes out but what was your favourite pattern for that month?

*not really one million, but plenty of people I know would believe that statement. Pshht, fools, I can get way more than a measly million patterns into my filing cabinet 😉

Anyway, let’s look at a magazine I did buy, Manequim 636:

A fun “green” shopping bag that zips up into a smaller purse size is great. I have one of these that I was given and have long thought about drafting a pattern to make more but that kind of sewing for me always get’s relegated to the bottom of the pile under more fun things like dresses and lace wrap tops. I like the square neckline with collar on dress 254, and the off-centre front zipper it’s quite different, bonus points for pockets too.

Another tie-front top and the pink blouse has some really nice details. I like the seaming on this skirt, but not the fabric, just not me but another pattern that could look great colour-blocked or with contrast top-stitching.

Our designer section this month is Marcel Rochas, we get four patterns (the orange blouse is also included) and I LOVE the coat. Perfect for today, it was only 5.5 degrees Celsius when I left for work this morning, and that didn’t take into account the wind-chill factor, Winter is definitely here! The dress is nice too, great fabric!

“From the catwalk to the streets” is sparkly and bright. My favourite is the sporty top, I really like the panelling and shoulder pleating.

After the sneak peak I was really looking forward to the “return of the sets” but meh…

The Oscar dresses were much more exciting!

Next month (which will probably arrive soon) looks ok, a “winter prints” section, Salvatore Ferragamo is the designer feature and it looks like a jacket/coat section “to warm (you) up”.

8 thoughts on “Manequim 636 (May) 2012 (plus FREE pattern alert!)

  1. Oh won’t hold my breath about Burda either – haven’t bothered to go look through it yet actually. JJ is off to Europe for a work trip and has promised to pick up some sewing mags while there. Fingers crossed he remembers.

  2. Pingback: (Disaster) dress? Burda April 2012 «

    • I find them OK considering I can’t read Portuguese, not any mroe difficult that Burda. Patterns are given difficulty ratings (the more stars the more complicated/advanced) and I usually use my sewing books if I get stuck but all the seams are numbered so it’s easy to line pieces up with each other and then just follow a general order of construction. Some of the patterns are multi-sized and others are just a single size so you do need ot be prepared to try a bit of re-sizing to get the most out of them. I find Manequim much more fashion forward and more to my taste than Burda currently 🙂

  3. I agree about April Burda. It wasn’t their best issue. The mannequim looks interesting. I haven’t found where to buy it in London but am told I can order it on line (impressed that you can get it in Wellington!)

    • Actually I cheat and subscribe, hehe. I usually get my issue about a half month behind which is pretty good for how far it has to travel to get to me way down here at the bottom of the globe 😉 You can usually find an issue or two on ebay or here is how I subscribe.

  4. Ooooo I see I have to urgently make this blog post with my version of the Burda dress! I didn’t realize there were so many posts about this pattern. I made it too, I do agree with Melissa that the instructions are crap (didn’t follow them), and it doesn’t look exactly like on the pictures – but it’s wearable. I made the dress and the blouse version.I’ll make the post tonight 🙂

    • Burda instructions being crap isn’t anything new for most of us I think 😉 They day they surprise me with perfectly translated and clear step-by-step instructions I’ll fall of my sewing chair, hehe

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

