A bit of Sewing Room progress

I didn’t achieve everything I wanted this weekend but I did un-bury both my machines!

…and powercords, which are also very important!

It doesn’t look like much but it made me feel MUCH better about pretty much EVERYTHING.

Hrmm…we appear to be lacking quite a lot of fabric…

Nerdy husband and I have decided we have to prioritise getting new carpet for all the bedrooms, the current carpet is very old, full of 24 years worth of pet fur and goodness knows what else (despite numerous cleans) and it’s just not healthy for us. We were prepared for this, we knew when we bought the house that the carpet was bad. The exciting pay-off is that the carpet sits on top of beautiful New Zealand Rimu floor boards so the rest of the house will be taken back to this and polished up. Oh my, it’s going to be gorgeous!

This will happen very soon, I just have to organise myself, but until that time I am reluctant to load my room with too many items as I’ll just have to empty it again when the new carpet goes in. I do intend to have enough in there so that I can sew 😉 This weekend made me realise that my mood has been slowly descending into gloomy territory. We’ve only been in the house 1 week and I’ve felt a bit lost in general.  I’m just impatient. On Saturday I cooked our first “proper” meal, in my kitchen, roast chicken with all the trimmings, it felt so good. I want my sewing room back the same way and I know it’ll feel just as good when I sit down at my table and push the pedal on my Elna for the first time in aaages.

I have a quick project already lined up to get me back in the swing. It doesn’t sound super exciting because it’s home-dec but I’m excited about it. Here’s the background: Nerdy Husband’s interests also include goldfish and he has a nice large tank that has been in storage for 6 years. We have dusted everything off and bought additional supplies and are now looking forward to getting it all set up in our lounge. The tank also has a pretty naff looking pine table that Nerdy Husband made for it to sit on. It’s OK, even Nerdy Husband concedes the naff-ness of this table and has asked me to make a cover for it. I have left over fabric from this ikea-hack-esque project which will go nicely with the couches and ottoman. I’ve already planned how I’m going to tackle it so I just have to do some measuring (and dig out said fabric) and then I’ll get at it later this week…I may also need a couple of zippers…

Now for something completely different: Would you guys pretty-please-with-sugar-on-top vote for my entry in the Bernina Craftsy DIY Weddings Contest? You just have to click on THIS LINK or on the image below and then click on the heart to “heart” me 🙂

If you missed my wedding dress journey you can see all the posts HERE

Thanks everyone, you guys are awesome xx

10 thoughts on “A bit of Sewing Room progress

  1. Done. Lovely dress and photo! Cheer up, you have a spacious sewing room. I would be curious to see an authentic rimu floorboard, it must be beautiful – why put a carpet on it?

    • Thanks France xx Why put carpet over Rimu floorboards indeed?! Our house is mid-1960s so that was just the timber they used back then for flooring but it is kind of the “done” thing when you renovate this age of house to liberate the Rimu 😉 I can’t wait!

  2. voting – done! and your sewing room looks so big – but I guess that will change once all the stuff is in there (I know from experience) 🙂 Good luck with decorating!

  3. You must have loads of space to have such an empty looking room! I hope you’ve got insulation to keep those rooms warm without carpet too! As much as we love the bare boards in our bedroom, the floor is freezing! DIY vote done too!

    • Thanks Nikki xx I think we’ll just re-carpet the bedrooms, I love the look of boards too but I hate that feeling of the feet hitting the floor first thing in the morning when it’s so coooold. The lounge is insulated but we’ll get lots of pretty rugs too 🙂

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

