Sewing as Art: World of WearableArt

The 24th annual World of WearableArt (WOW) Awards kicked off on Wednesday here in Wellington.

Tickets to the shows are pretty exxy and sell out really early so I’ve never managed to go but luckily the local news website has a little slide show up for us all to enjoy 😉

Click on the picture to see more:

Event’s like WOW are one of the many reasons why I love living in Wellington.

You can read more about the WOW story here and there are more pictures on the official Facebook page.

A few of the shops in town have also been getting in on the fun by entering the WOW Window Dressing competition by displaying their own WearableArt in their windows.

Here are a few that I managed to get snaps of while rushing between meetings:

New World Metro, Willis street

Damn it, that’s what I should have made my wedding dress out of…chocolate! 🙂

Somerfields , Lambton Quay

Plimmer Shoes, Lambton Quay

The next four are from the windows of Kirkcaldie & Stains (Brandon Street Windows) and I think they are by Fashion Design Students but I was running late and didn’t get a chance to read the the signs:

start

Probably saved the best until last:

Te Papa Store, Brandon Street

Butterflies!

Did you like this post? You may enjoy one of these:

Sewing as Art – Berber Soepboer Dresses

Sewing as Art – Architectural Fabric Art Installation

Sewing as Art

6 thoughts on “Sewing as Art: World of WearableArt

  1. hahahaaa I made the one with the rainbow skirt, my friend told me she spied it out here. We’re all year 13s at different schools, you really didn’t have to read the signs after all. Cute blog!

  2. WOW is a fantastic show – I highly recommend going along! :-). We just get the $50 tickets – it helps to sign up to their mailing list so you get the pre sales or they all vanish really fast….

      • They’re the ‘restricted view’ seats – which basically just means you’re in the front row of the top section of seats, so the metal bar that runs along the barrier is directly in front of you. Which I find isn’t a huge issue, and I’m happy to deal with that if it means I get a seat for half the price of the ones behind me. 😉

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

