#2017makenine

For a bit more accountability I thought I’d elaborate a little on my Instagram #2017makenine montage 😉

I have five completed makes from 2016 waiting for photographs and blog posts. It’s currently raining so I was stalking everyone’s exciting #2017makenine montages instead.

Hello bandwagon! 🙃

I’m cheating a little and including some fabrics I want to use (one of them is from the precious stash shelf!), two items already cut out for too long, a pattern high in the queue, my first Lekala pattern, and two that will challenge my normal (i.e. comfortable) silhouette!

So, from the top left:

Decades of Style #3007 1930s Button Dress

The first of the silhouette challenges. I really love this pattern and I ummed and ahhed for ages before finally buying it. I love Lauren’s and Amy’s versions and this pattern has sat in the stash for too long…

Pauline Alice Quart Coat

The first “cheat” pattern because this is already cut out and has been for some time while I worked up the energy to start on the bound button holes that I don’t currently have buttons for. The sad thing is that I need a new wool coat for winter…actually I really needed a new wool coat LAST winter!

Vogue 1499 – Anna Klein

A recent addition to the stash, this will be an easy one, interesting seaming and pleats on a silhouette I know I love to wear, there’s not much else to say 🙂

Fabric!

Ok now this is properly cheating. I’ve snuck in some fabric because why should patterns have all the fun? 😉 I’ll cover all three selections together:

First up, 1.5 meters from the “precious” shelf of my stash: Some ridiculously expensive DKNY polyester (yeah I know but it is fabulous, trust me!). It’s quite stiff and I bought enough for a skirt. Maybe the Named Eleonora or McCall’s 7166 (to help you get past the hideous McCall’s styling check out this version on the Tessuti blog).

The next two are cottons from two of my favourite designers: Atlas in Tourmaline from Eden by Tula Pink. One of the Five Unblogged is also in an Eden fabric. And lastly, 2013-21 in Shibuya Violet from Tokyo Train Ride by Sarah Watts for Cotton and Steel. I pre-washed these some time ago so it’s time they got cut up!

Lekala 4282

I have a few Lekala patterns but I’ve never sewn any of them. This is one of my favourites so it’s in the list. I’m really interested in how the fit will turn out using custom measurements and I’m already planning a quick muslin of the bodice.

The Curious Corset Experiment

Hey remember this post? Yeah, apparently me neither! 😉

Named Kielo Wrap Dress

The second silhouette challenge. There are lots of great Kielo dresses out there but I think Lizzie’s was the first short version I saw blogged. I’ll definitely be making a short version but I also love it in a stripe like Katy’s and since I have the same fabric as fellow Wellingtonian Sandra I might just copy her for a guaranteed success. I know she won’t mind, right Sandra? 😉

Ok, so that’s probably enough procrastinating writing, happy new year and all that, see you on the other side…of the sewing machine 😉

M. xx

footer_machine-string-kitten

2 thoughts on “#2017makenine

  1. I’m lovin all your planned makes. The Quart Coat is just beautiful, I’d really love to see that roll off your sewing table. You can absolutely go for gold with the Kielo dress. I actually wish I had made mind just a tad longer so I can wear it as a dress rather than a tunic. I keep meaning to make another one, but so many other things to sew!

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx

