Project Safety Dog Vest

My workplace is very dog friendly.

Meet:

Nessie, Tom, Tess
Bobbie, Ted & Bear

Some of these dogs are such frequent visitors they even have their own sign in!

You might all have thought I’m a cat person but I’m a sucker for a cute anything really.

Ted’s mum sits beside me so Ted is like my adoptive dog and he’s a real sweetie. He has some cute little coats to keep him warm and dry (see above) but since we are in the construction industry I decided he needed a proper H&S Hi-Vis Vest, for site visits of course.

I found a free dog vest pattern online from The Spruce Crafts and scaled it down on the photocopier to approximately Ted-sized. He’s a Griffon and won’t grow much bigger.

I had an old hi-vis vest from my time working in Western Australia. It’s a size small and fitted me perfectly…then they changed the rules and decided that a size small was actually far too little fabric coverage to be adequately seen on site. If I wanted to wear a nicely fitted hi-vis (you know, one that wouldn’t present a catch or trip hazard) I’d have to buy a new one with a long apron at the back to add more surface area…or wear a larger size. So I put my illegal hi-vis away and work bought me a new one.

Well waste not, want not!

I pulled it out and began to unpick it. I wanted as much orange fabric as possible but also decided to save the reflective tape, the edge binding and, while I was at it, why not the Velcro too?!

Harri is a bit chonkier than Ted but she made a good test model…she wasn’t particularly impressed but she trusts me…we’ll see if that pays off for her later…

I had plenty of hi-vis to work with, the vest fitted on the back piece easily with fabric to spare.

I trimmed the reflective tape a bit thinner to remove the old needle holes and bring it more in scale with the dog vest proportions.

The binding was the trickiest part to sew on but I just took my time. It’s was the nicest way to finish all the raw edges.

Next I finished the ends of the straps…

…and added the velcro.

Soft side towards the tummy to prevent accidental fur snagging!

All done!

I was super proud of it and Ted’s mum loved it too.

Harri, who trusted me, not so much…

We know a picture is worth a thousand words but really a video is so much better…

Yeah I’m not sure how I survived that either…

What did Ted think?

So safe!

So visible!

Here are a few more details:

Always sign your work…

THE DETAILS:

Pattern – Free Small Dog Coat pattern from The Spruce Crafts, scaled to suit

Next time I’d add a button hole for the dog lead to pass through.

Fabric – Old “illegal” hi-vis vest

Other notions – Re-used Velcro, binding, reflective tape

 

1 thought on “Project Safety Dog Vest

  1. So cute! So thrifty! So useful! Ticks all the boxes. I tried making warm vests for my dogs once…got to the potential wearable muslin stage but the family laughed so much the dogs wouldn’t wear them. Might need to try again since they are getting older and might like the warmth as we head into winter here. Tk for the inspiration.

I love comments so please feel free to say "hi" xx